Skip to content ↓

Curriculum for Wales 2022

Schools and settings, including Sageston CP School, have now begun teaching under the Curriculum for Wales 2022. 

The Four Purposes 

The four purposes are at the heart of the new curriculum. They are the starting point for all decisions on the content and experiences developed as part of the curriculum to support all children and young people to be: 

  • ambitious, capable learners ready to learn throughout their lives. 
  • enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work. 
  • ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world. 
  • healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society. 


Key Elements of the Curriculum for Wales

The new curriculum will include: 

  • 6 Areas of Learning and Experience from 3 to 16. 
  • 3 cross curricular responsibilities: Literacy, Numeracy and Digital Competence. 
  • progression reference points at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16. 
  • achievement outcomes which describe expected achievements at each progression reference point. 
Areas of Learning and Experience (AoLEs)

The curriculum is organised into 6 AoLEs: 

  • Expressive arts 
  • Health and Well-being 
  • Humanities (including RVE which will remain compulsory to age 16) 
  • Languages, Literacy and Communication (including Welsh, which will remain compulsory to age 16) 
  • Mathematics and Numeracy 
  • Science and Technology 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please